2010 IEEE International Conference on Imaging Systems and Techniques (IST 2010)

Thessaloniki, Greece, 1-2 July 2010







Call for Papers

Abstract due: 21 Feb. 2010

Notification of acceptance: 10 March 2010

Full paper due: 5 May 2010

Sponsored by the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society Organised by IEEE I&M TC-19 Technical Committee



Following the success of IEEE Workshops on Imaging Systems and Techniques, Stresa, Italy in 2004, Niagara Falls, Canada in 2005, Minori, Italy in 2006, Krakow, Poland in 2007, Chania, Island of Crete, Greece in 2008, and Shenzhen, China, in 2009, the 2010 IEEE Conference on Imaging Systems and Techniques (IST 2010) will take place in Thessaloniki, Greece.

IST 2010 deals with the design, development, evaluation and applications of imaging systems, instrumentation, and measuring techniques, to enhance detection and image quality. Applications for aerospace, medicine and biology, molecular imaging, metrology, ladar and lidars, radars, homeland security, and industrial imaging with emphasis on industrial tomography, corrosion imaging, and non-destructive evaluation (NDE) will be covered. The following areas will be particularly considered:

- Detector design principles and image formation
- Imaging system design and instrumentation
- Signal and image analysis
- Linear and non-linear processing techniques
- Medical imaging and bio-nano-photonics
- Environmental monitoring, energy resources
- Molecular imaging and metabolic imaging
- Remote sensing, passive and active sensing
- Ladars and Lidars
- Multispectral Polarimetric Imaging and Lasers
- Subsurface inspection, corrosion imaging
- Radiation detection, airport security and cargo Inspection-standoff detection techniques
- Electromagnetic imaging and inverse scattering

A Special Feature within Measurement Science and Technology Journal, IOP, will be published after the Conference. Submission Deadline: October 31, 2010. Publication Date: July, 2011.

About Thessaloniki, Greece

Thessaloniki is one of the largest cities in Greece with great historical and cultural significance, and capital of the Greek region of Macedonia, owing its name to the sister of Alexander the Great, named Thessaloniki. It is a major Mediterranean port city built amphitheatrically and located in the northern part of Greece in a unique geographical location surrounded by sea and mountains, in the vicinity (50 km) to the famous and highly touristic peninsula of Chalkidiki where the great Greek philosopher Aristotle was born and taught. Thessaloniki is considered a cultural, touristic, industrial, commercial and political centre and a major transportation hub for the rest of southeastern Europe.

General Chair, TC 19 Chairman

George C. Giakos, University of Akron, USA

Honorary Chairs

Maria Petrou, Informatics and Telematics Institute, Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH), Greece

Konstantina Nikita, National Technical University of Athens (NTUA), Greece

Wuqiang Yang, The University of Manchester, UK

Co-chairs

Matteo Pastorino, University of Genoa, Italy Cesare Svelto, Polytechnic of Milan, Italy Michalis Zervakis, Technical University of Crete, Greece

Mohd Zaid Abdullah, Universiti Sains Malaysia Michele Ceccarelli, University of Sannio, Italy George Zentai, Varian Medical Systems, USA Basil Mertzios, Democritus University of Thrace (DUTH), Greece

Dimitrios Karras, Technological Educational Institute of Chalkida, Greece Antonios Gasteratos, Democritus University of

Thrace. Greece

Secretary

Angelos Amanatiadis, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece

Workshop Administrator

Chris Dyer, Conference Catalysts, LLC, USA

Design and Art

Zoe Giakos, Copley-Fairlawn, USA

International Board

Vincenzo Piuri, University of Milan, Italy Mel Siegel, Carnegie Mellon, USA Emil Petriu, University of Ottawa, Canada Christo Christodoulou, University of New Mexico, USA

George Chatzimavroudis, Cleveland State University, USA

Ioannis Gousias, Imperial College, UK Nikolas Karakatsanis, NTUA, Greece Ioannis Valavanis, NTUA, Greece Angelos Amanatiadis, DUTH, Greece Kostas Fotakis, Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser (IESL), FORTH, Greece

Andrea Trucco, University of Genova, Italy Narender Reddy, University of Akron, USA Uwe Hampel, Forschungszentrum Dresden Rossendorf e.V, Germany

Dimitris Iakovidis, University of Athens, Greece George Livanos, Technical University of Crete, Greece

Mohd Zaid Abdullah, Universiti Sains Malaysia

Local Committee

Maria Petrou, Informatics and Telematics Institute, CERTH, Greece

Konstantina Nikita, NTUA, Greece Theodore Laopoulos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

Technical Committee

Greece

Wuqiang Yang, The University of Manchester, UK Maria Petrou, Informatics and Telematics Institute, Thessaloniki. Greece

Konstantina Nikita, NTUA, Greece Matteo Pastorino, University of Genova, Italy Cesare Svelto, Polytechnic of Milan, Italy Michalis Zervakis, Technical University of Crete,

Stelios Siskos, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH).

Mohd Zaid Abdullah, Universiti Sains Malaysia Michele Ceccarelli, University of Sannio, Italy George Zentai, Varian Medical Systems, USA Basil Mertzios, Democritus University of Thrace (DUTH), Greece

Dimitrios Karras, Technological Educational Institute of Chalkida, Greece Vincenzo Piuri, University of Milan, italy

Mel Siegel, Carnegie Mellon, USA Emil Petriu, University of Ottawa, Canada Christo Christodoulou, University of New Mexico, USA

George Chatzimavroudis, Cleveland State University, USA

Andrea Trucco, University of Genova, Italy Narender Reddy, University of Akron, USA Uwe Hampel, Forschungszentrum Dresden Rossendorf e.V, Germany

Andrea Randazzo, University of Genoa, Italy Layia Polychronaki, NTUA, Greece Stefanie Marotta, University of Akron, USA

Keerthi, Valluru, University of Akron, USA Samita Athawale, University of Akron, USA Angelos Amanatiadis, DUTH, Greece

Ioannis Andreadis, DUTH, Greece George Giannakakis, NTUA, Greece

Michele Piana, University of Verona, Italy

George Panayiotakis, University of Patras, Greece John Stoitsis, NTUA, Greece

Alexandra Nikita, Diakentro Diagnostic Center, Greece

Antonios Gasteratos, DUTH, Greece George Zentai, Varian Medical Systems, USA Bharath Kumar Reddy Mandadi, University of Akron, USA

Irene Karanassiou, NTUA, Greece



